Daytrippin’

‘Twas a Lovely Sunday

Jer, Mason, and I joined Rob, Elisabeth, and Violet Bondar on a daytrip to Lake Geneva. I have always had a love affair with this place. My dad took my sisters and I there often when we were younger, whether it be to check out the lake from a boat, or to hang out while he worked at his booth in the Lake Geneva Antique Mall. Come to think of it, I don’t recall the last time I visited, and today was very enjoyable (despite the rain!)

We met up at the Bondar’s place this morning and stopped at Starbucks before hitting the road. It is only a 50 minute drive from where we live, but coffee is necessary for me any time I am going to be in a moving vehicle for more than a half hour! I can fall asleep standing up, you guys. ANYWAY, we arrived in Lake Geneva around noon, and after a quick snack, explored the trails along the lake. The homes that grace the lake are stunning! I am not joking when I say that the landscaping for these homes is probably more than my mortgage. I wondered aloud what Jer and I would even DO with ourselves if we had that kind of wealth. We laughed. Personally, I would hire a maid, a chef, and eat macaroons on a lounge chair in the sun but that’s JUST ME πŸ˜‰ After all, there is always going to be someone who has something you do not have, and that’s ok!

It started to drizzle a bit (and Mason kept running ahead of everyone. He has Star Wars crocs that he insists on wearing- and NO, they are not shoes, mommy, they are CROCS- and he trips easily when running in them. That’s just what I need: for my child to trip over the edge of the path and fall into the lake. Woo-hoo, daytrippin’!), so we attempted to grab a late lunch at Popeye’s restaurant, but there was a 2 hour wait, so we ate at Sprecher’s instead. We treated ourselves to soft serve and candy afterwards. The next time we visit, we will have to ensure that there is time for shopping and boating.

It was a great day! Oh, and for any and all who were wondering.. Mason fell asleep before his head even hit the pillow!

xo

Leave a Reply

