New York State of Mind

manhattan-407703_1280

I am completely obsessed with New York City. I have never been there, but I am smitten with it. Central Park, the hipster shops in the West Village, the run-down pizza cafes, the Museum of Modern Art, small bakeries with macaroons in the window, Tiffany’s, Grand Central Terminal, brownstone buildings on tree-lined streets… I could go on. Perhaps my fascination is due to the movie “Sunday in New York” with Jane Fonda, countless viewings of “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” with Audrey Hepburn, and “Pillow Talk” with Doris Day that I watched hundreds of times while growing up. Perhaps it is more recently due to “Gossip Girl” (sue me. When I was home with Mason on maternity leave, he slept a lot. I love that series so much that I have watched the entire series 5 times through).

You can call me Blair Waldorf 🙂

Anyway…

Whatever the reason, I have been dreaming of traveling there for years. I’m sure I’m not alone in this quest. I know many people who visit there often, but I have never had the chance. I need at least a week to explore all the places and sites I want to see! I also need the right traveling buddy to embark on this adventure with me.

Enter Jer.

I asked him if he would enjoy traveling there for our anniversary, and he said he would. So it’s settled then! That’s all I needed to hear lol! I have been casually “planning” and researching a trip to the Big Apple for years now, so I have a pretty solid idea of what I would like to experience!

One snag. One of us is terrified of flying, the other can’t stand the idea of driving that far. But I mean come on. Why drive for FOURTEEN effing hours when you could fly for TWO hours nonstop to LGA for only 100 bucks more per person compared to the cost of gas? Not that I’m giving my opinion or anything. I’ll just make sure he gets a few shots of tequila in his system and his fear of flying will fly right out the window!

Below I have outlined the sites and places that I am determined to experience in August.

The High Line

The High Line is a former elevated train track that has been converted into an elevated urban park. It’s only a mile long so it should be a great walk with some great photo ops!

Grand Central Terminal

It’s one of the nation’s most historical landmarks, and it is a beautiful building. I can’t wait to see it in person!

Katz’s Deli

“I’ll have what she’s having”. –the orgasm scene in “When Harry Met Sally”

MOMA

While there are many museums to visit in the city, The Museum of Modern Art appeals to me the most.

The Shake Shack

The Shake Shack is a food stand in Madison Square Park. Word around the interwebs is that it features some of the best New York-style hamburgers and hot dogs in the city. Count me in.

Tiffany’s

No explanation needed. I will use getting my necklace cleaned as an excuse to enter, and walk out with the matching bracelet. Sorry Jer.

Palma

I have read nothing but great reviews about this tucked away brunch destination. I have heard that brunch is practically a New York rite of passage, so as long as that includes mimosas, powdered sugar French toast, and a bowl overflowing with blueberries, strawberries, and cream, count me in!

Central Park

This one speaks for itself. I can’t wait to rent some bikes and explore the whole park! I am hoping to spend an entire day there as well: eating in the park, reading in the park, yoga in the park… sigh.

Union Square Farmer’s Market

I am a sucker for farmer’s markets here in MKE. I love the one in South Shore Park. I’m sure this one is a market-goer’s paradise!

Empire State Building

There is something magical about this building to me. I especially want to be on the observation deck to catch an amazing sunset!

I also want to take a tour of the Statue of Liberty, check out Times Square, go to the New York Public Library, and bike the Brooklyn Bridge, among many other things! So exciting. I can’t wait to explore it all, take a million pictures, and “be a New Yorker” for a while J

What are some of your favorite spots in New York City? For all you experts, what are some recommendations of must-do’s and must-see’s?

One thought on “New York State of Mind

Leave a Reply

