Plant Based Skincare

Happy Sunday everyone! I hope everyone is enjoying a relaxing afternoon.

eye-17837_1280

I take great pride in my skin! I go to great lengths to care for it, and have been asked many times what products I use in my daily skincare routine. While it varies from season to season, this post will focus on my winter skincare routine, as skin requires extra moisture in the cold weather.

I want every woman to delight in healthy facial skin! The skin is the bodies’ largest organ, and there is no one-size-fits-all product, so with that said, I will describe my skin type before I list the products and their benefits. My skin tends to be normal to dry during the winter months, with the drier areas being my forehead and cheeks. I still tend to be a bit oilier on my nose and chin, so these would be the areas I may have a breakout or two. My skin is also a bit on the sensitive side, and it can get blotchy-pink and irritated easily.

I worked for Aveda in 2010 and fell in love with all of their products, but was especially drawn to their moisturizers. It wasn’t until I became more familiar with naturally derived plant based skincare that I realized its importance.Β Naturally derived ingredients are defined as those for which more than 50% of the molecule comes from a plant, non-petroleum mineral, water, or some other natural source. I have noticed a tremendous difference in my skin after I had switched to a strictly plant based skincare routine! It is brighter, supple, and less ruddy. I believe there is a natural skincare regimen for every woman!

I use Aveda and Origins products- Origins is a sister company of Aveda. Below is my routine:

Products are explained left to right and starting at the top.

Products are explained left to right and starting at the top.

I cleanse my face morning and evening with Aveda’s Botanical Kinetics purifying gel cleanser. They offer a cream cleanser as well within the line, but I find that the gel cleanser keeps my minimal oiliness under control. After cleansing, my skin feels refreshed and cool.

Aveda’s Tourmaline charged exfoliating cleanser is a scrub I use every other day to remove dead surface cells and increase cell turnover. It leaves skin feeling extremely soft.

I use Origin’s Drink-Up intensive overnight mask once a week to deeply hydrate my skin. It goes on clear, and I leave it on while I sleep.

I use two eye creams- one for morning and the other for night. Origin’s Plantscription anti-aging eye cream is a great daytime option because it is rich yet works great under both liquid and mineral makeup. Aveda’s Green Science eye cream is a great evening option because it is thick and absorbs will I sleep.

As with the eye creams, I use two moisturizers as well. For daytime, Origin’s Plantscription anti-aging cream is wonderful because it has SPF 25. At nighttime I use Aveda’s Tourmaline charged hydrating cream (on the nights I don’t use the Origins mask). It is slightly tacky until you rub it in, and then it is velvety smooth, and skin feels baby-soft in the morning.

So there you have it! These products are worth every penny. What are some of your favorite products?

xo

Leave a Reply

